Register | Login
Attackpoint AR - performance and training tools for adventure athletes

Training Log Archive: iansmith

In the 1 days ending May 26, 2011:

» now

Thursday May 26, 2011 #


Note: The last day to submit your candidacy and be on the ballot for the NEOC Board is today, Friday May 27. If you are interested, send an e-mail with your candidacy and a bio (3-6 sentences) about who you are and why you are running to Peter Frykman, workmoor -at- yahoo. Anyone can be nominated from the floor on the day of the AGM, but we have to close the ballot two weeks in advance to mail out proxy ballots to anyone who doesn't receive the e-mail letter.

The NEOC Board elections are at the Annual General Meeting on June 12, which will be held at Horn Pond in Woburn, MA. The Board has nine members, as per the bylaws, with two year terms. There are six seats up for election this year.

Terms end in 2012: Barb Bryant, Ian Smith, Peter Frykman
Board members running for reelection: Pete Lane, Joanne Sankus, Jim Paschetto
Board members not running for reelection: Samantha Saeger (moving to Sweden), Dan Westerberg (moved to Tennessee), Jason Tong

Peter Frykman has headed up the nominations committee, whose main charge is to find qualified and enthusiastic candidates. The committee consists of three people, including exactly one board member. The other two members were Bob Dangel and (I forget whom - will update). Peter worked hard drumming up candidates, spending lots of time talking to people at meets, and I think the search was well publicized. I apologize if we as a board didn't publicize the search sufficiently; this is my small belated effort.

The three candidates whom the nominations committee found are Andy McIlvaine, Bob Dangel, and Jim Crawford. At present, there are six candidates for six seats. I would be delighted if there were more candidates, but from what I know of the candidates, they would make excellent and enthusiastic members.

Yesterday, in a 4-3 vote (2 board members absent), the board voted to present all candidates equally on the ballot without a slate of candidates. In response to the elections last year, Peter Frykman, Barb Bryant, and I drafted an elections proposal to better codify the elections process. Most of the time, a club like NEOC shouldn't need such a document, because elections are generally smooth and happy. The vote on the proposal was split 3-3 over the issue of whether the nominating committee should put forward a slate - or preferred subset - of candidates. I don't think we passed the rest of the proposal (though I'm not sure why).

I am adamantly opposed to a slate because I believe it undermines the democratic process. It is my opinion that the membership should select the board members among ALL eligible candidates. In 2010, an extreme case emerged in which the names of those not on the slate were omitted from the ballot entirely (including mine and a returning Board member).

I will post a summary of my goals for the year and what we as Board accomplished this year in the coming weeks.

« Earlier | Later »