Register | Login
Attackpoint AR - performance and training tools for adventure athletes

Discussion: Diane might want to check the rules

in: Cristina; Cristina > 2007-10-23

Oct 24, 2007 12:03 PM # 
ebuckley:
If she was really within 40 seconds, she's in. You get to drop the seconds off your qualifying time.
Advertisement  
Oct 24, 2007 12:42 PM # 
jjcote:
Somewhere, there's a cutoff. If it isn't X:XX:00, then maybe it's X:XX:59, but it's still possible to miss it by 40 seconds.
Oct 24, 2007 1:16 PM # 
ebuckley:
True, but I know several folks who have missed Boston because they were unaware of the truncate seconds rule.
Oct 24, 2007 1:44 PM # 
Cristina:
Yeah, she knows about the seconds. She ran a 4:01:37 last year. I guess that means she really is trying to break 4:01, but that's not nearly as satisfying to think about as breaking 4:00. And I think she'd probably like to break 4:00 just because it's a round number.

The question I have is whether or not chip time counts versus gun time. Didn't see it on the site. Anyone know?
Oct 24, 2007 3:36 PM # 
ebuckley:
My understanding is that if the race was run using the Champion Chip, they already have the chip time, so no further verification is done. If it was with some other system, they verify the result, so you'd have to take it up with the RD.

This discussion thread is closed.